August 23, 2006

Switching Gears

Posted in News & Updates at 1:51 am by j128

Hello! The World Is Quiet Here is all about books and movies I’ve read. Well, and maybe some recipes, and, oh, all right; whatever captures my fancy, then!

Where should I start? Let’s just say that you will find all kinds of books and movies and such here. Have a chair and sit down and relax…I read or watch anything that catches my eye and sounds interesting to me. Expect to find many articles posted on a variety of things.

For those of you who have not visited The World Is Quiet Here for a while, I have added some new features. The first one is I’ve catagorized my articles now and instead of having to type in the search box all the time or scrolling down the page to find an article, etc., which I believe, will make things much easier for my readers.

The first category, About The World Is Quiet Here, and where you will find this introductory article, is a substitute for where I would ordinarily place this article in the About. Oddly, the About feature has disappeared from my blog. Switching Gears was my first article written before The Arm of the Starfish by Madeleine L’Engle and I have now updated this introductory article and removed irrelevant details such as an occasional car coming down the tunnel.

The other catagories contain subjects that are detailed in their titles.

Come back again soon and keep on checking, as The World Is Quiet Here will be constantly growing all the time! Stay tuned!

4 Comments »

  1. Auntie Lisa said,

    Well hello, What a lot to read on this site. It is great ! I can’t say I’ve read any of the books you’ve reviewed but I can say I will now that I have learned about them from your reviews. Very interesting. It sounds like you enjoy books that have twisty plots with many layers in between.

    I can only contribute a sampling of books that I enjoy reading that you may find interesting.

    “The Pleasure Of Finding Things Out” The Best Short Works of Richard P. Feynman. He has a way of writing that makes you easily imagine you were there along with him experiencing what he lived through. He was one of the scientists that worked in Los Alamos on the nuclear bomb that was later used by the US against Japan after Pearl Harbour. But there is so much more to him than just that. He has a way of looking at the world that is refreshing and exciting. A great scientist, a brilliant man. You will find yourself looking for other books about him once you read this one.

    Another book that I thoroughly enjoyed as of late is “Freakonomics..” by Steven D. Levitt and Stephen J. Dubner. Amoung other interesting freakish questions this economist attempts to explain using statistical analysis he tells us what Schoolteachers and Sumo Wrestlers have in common and How the Klu Klux Klan is Like a Group of Real-Estate Agents. Very hilarious book.

    David Foot’s “Boom Bust and Echo 2000” is another Economic Book that I enjoyed reading.

    Well, my little one is calling “Maammmma” so I must fly. Wonderful job on your site. I look forward to reading some more.

    Oh, have you checked out your local library webpage/ kidsite? Our local library has a book review section that encourages kids to input book reviews about their favourite reads so others may read them. You might submit a review and mention your site to get some more dialogue going about the books you love with other children who are reading books with a similar interest. AHHH if you could follow that train of thought YOU A SUPERSTAR !! I must go.

    Best of luck, Auntie Lisa

  2. Ted said,

    Hello there, What type of car is that driving through the tunnell ? My favourite car is a Super Bee or a really BIG TRUCK. What is your favourite kid of car ?

    I don’t know any of those books you talked about up there but I do know you like to read. So do I. I like going to the library and getting a bunch of books and staying up late to read them all! Then I like to read them over again slowly looking over things in the book and talking with my Dad or Mom about what I think about the book. Do you know there are dust mites under your bed right now as we speak?

    I hope you have a nice summer. Ted

  3. Sophia said,

    Hi,

    Do you ever read stories about princesses or ponies ? I like “Princess and The Pauper” and I can even sing the songs. I like happy endings.

    Bye,
    Sophia

  4. AK said,

    You continue to surprise me with your wide ranging interests and your lovely way of phrasing things. I look forward to reading more and in the future sharing certain works I really enjoy.


Leave a Reply

